Alex B – You and I Both Know

Was trying to hold off on doing any single tracks or album previews til the new design was implemented and this was hosted on its own server, but Colorado’s Alex B had some huge news today.  The first single “You and I Both Know” off his forthcoming debut just got posted up on XLR8R, and is slowly working it’s way up the Hype Machine charts.  Set to drop April 6th on Elm & Oak, the brainchild of himself and Berk Visual, “Moments” will feature 17 unreleased bangers from this ever-busy beatsmith.

FIRST head over to Hype Machine to stream the track (be sure to click the heart icon!)

…and then AFTER you’ve streamed it hit up XLR8R to download the track (and don’t forget to vote!)

More info on the release after the jump…

Fresh-faced beatmaker and Brainfeeder mix contributor Alex B sent over this premiere of a track from his forthcoming debut, Moments. Entitled “You and I Both Know,” this diddy is a brief look into the type of herky-jerky rhythms and smooth, spaced-out sonics to be heard through the album’s 17 tracks. Within two minutes we are treated to a tweaked soul loop, delayed vocal stabs, sporadic percussive elements, and swirling synth arpeggiations wrapped around a descending bass melody. It all comes off sounding more like an interlude between larger movements, but we can only know for sure whenMoments is released April 6 via Alex B’s own Elm and Oak imprint.


Anticipation has been running high for the release of Alex B’s debut full-length album Moments. Years of focused time in the studio and relentless touring all over the world have earned Alex his due recognition, with hype surrounding the rising producer growing daily.

The wait is almost over.  Moments is set to hit the streets April 6th on his own Elm&Oak imprint.

The tracks on Moments are intricately crafted with painstaking care and attention to detail — a careful mix of analog and digital sounds elevated by imaginative samples and the insight of a classically trained musician. The result is a blend of timeless warmth and future beats that is as easily adaptable to introspective time with one’s headphones as it is to group mania on a mobbed dance floor

Check back with and for more updates.

1. At Channel One

2. Pad 5

3. Hot Chop

4. You and I Both Know

5. Nothing is Always Something

6. Kick Drones (feat Sunk1)

7. Talk it Out

8. Clicking Away

9. Getting to Know You (feat Lilla D’mone)

10. Show Me

11. Drip Splatter (feat Count Bass D)

12. Waste

13. Hide Extension

14. Impressions

15. Standing On Me

16. Seriously Again?!?!

17. Timing Correct

or hit alex @

Elm & Oak

…and so it shows up on Hype Machine, here’s a download link to the MP3  Please click HERE first to stream on Hype Machine instead, and then head over to XLR8R for the download link

Alex B – You and I Both Know



~ by ssub on March 24, 2010.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: