Mike Slott – Fernando Castillo mix

Mike Slott should need to introduction for most of you.  Contrary to what you might think based on the pic below, he is not a model for any European clothing designers.  This one starts off real slow and soulful, gets funky, then drops into some gnarly bass-tunes from the likes of Eskmo and a couple others I didn’t recognize.  Real interesting mix, courtesy of LuckyMe

https://i1.wp.com/userserve-ak.last.fm/serve/500/12074703/Mike+Slott.jpg

I was making my way back to Scotland from the Numbers X Fabric takeover and I was feeling hungover and despondent. Despite a great crowd, great music and a great party – I was a total spoiled brat. I rode out the download of Mike’s new tape on the shitty train wi-fi and from the first 30 seconds of track one something shook me awake. Without planning it Mike had reminded me why we do what we do. It’s not a mix of white labels. Not ableton mixed. But it is so timelessly fresh that it soaked up all my bleak, hung over, post-xmas negativity and turned it into an unexpected smile as I rode a train home in the snow. If there’s something Mike has imparted with this mixtape tribute to the life of Fernando Castillo, it is that we should stop studying our place in our art and start loving it again. We all need to hear that once in a while. It’s stupid and saccharin but I hope my schmutz is somehow relevant to you. Love what you do in 2010. And thank you Mike Slott for the wake up.

Peace to Diane. Miss ya kid.

oh hell no – no tracklisting this time.

Right click – save as

Share

~ by ssub on January 14, 2010.

One Response to “Mike Slott – Fernando Castillo mix”

  1. great mix, needs a track list tho. Second song is “we need we” by manchild. Need help identifying the track @ 23:26

Leave a Reply

 
