14kt – Nowalataz EP

For those who haven’t heard of this absurdly talented producer, grab his latest EP fo’ free!  Super soulful vinyl samples and beats that lie more on the traditional side of things – definitely heavy, heavy J.Dilla inspiration here.  This kid is about to blow up, stoked to see who all has him doing their tracks in the future!

Released Aug. 19th ’09

“Here it is… a project I unofficially had done since 2006. It started when James Yancey a.k.a. J Dilla passed that February. To cope with the death of my favorite producer, who I liked to call my unofficial “musical mentor,” I started making ‘donuts’ …uncontrollably. I never planned to release any of the material out of respect for Dilla & his craft. I’ve shared some of the music with others, in which they would repeatedly ask me to hear it, so I decided to put a little something together and make it official. JUST FOR YA’LL.This is a collection of beats created about 3 years ago. Some ‘donuts’ style, some just around that era of 14KT beats. “Now & Laters” were always a favorite candy of mine. I used to go to Mindell’s Pharmacy in Ypsilanti back in the day and buy ALL of them. Sadly, I even stole change from my grandma’s (RIP) purse for them. They are addictive, yet fun to eat… something I found mutual when making music at the time. Ironically, I fell back in love with “Nowalataz” around this era (ask my homey Sarah “Merk Merk,” haha). Enjoy.“

Mediafire link

Share

~ by ssub on December 18, 2009.

3 Responses to “14kt – Nowalataz EP”

  1. ahhh, mediafire, speakin my language.

  2. […] Hot of the press!  Laid-back beat mix from UK production duo Leatherette.  Fans of 14KT, 40 Winks, and Samon Kawamura best grab this immediately!  Courtesy of BTS […]

  3. […] Beats Vol. 4 Here’s a sexy new beat tape from Constrobuz of North Carolina.  Fans of 14KT, B.Lewis, and Letherette best grab this […]

Leave a Reply

 
